Wednesday, 17 April 2013



Today marks the anniversary of the beginning of one of the most remarkable feats of the past 40 years, Rafael Nadal's eight straight titles at the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters.

The Spaniard has won 42 consecutive matches in The Principality since 2005, just six weeks into the reign of Albert II, Prince of Monaco.

Nadal has been the undisputed 'King of Clay' ever since he captured the first of his 22 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 crowns. He has a 266-20 lifetime record (.930) on clay courts according to the FedEx ATP Reliability Index.

Nadal’s last loss at the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters came on his debut as a 16 year old, in 2003, against Guillermo Coria in the third round. His overall match record at the event is 44-1(.977)

Andres Gomez told, “He is the ultimately clay-court player, plays great defence, covers a lot of court and now has developed a bigger serve that helps him get in control of the point earlier. He doesn’t have many weaknesses, so opponents have to go for bigger shots if they want to get a shot at beating him.”

Nadal is one of four 16 year-end No. 1s honoured in the ATP Heritage Programme, launched this year to celebrate the 40th year of the Emirates ATP Rankings, to have achieved great success at the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters, which was first held in 1897.
Ilie Nastase reached four straight finals, winning the title in 1971-73 and compiled a 28-10 (.736) overall tournament record. Monaco resident Bjorn Borg had a 24-8 (.750) mark, including titles in 1977, ’79-80, while 1992, ’95-96 champion Thomas Muster was 32-10 (.761).

Four other year-end World No. 1s have won the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters, including Jimmy Connors (1981, shared with Guillermo Vilas),Mats Wilander (1983, ’87), Ivan Lendl (1985, ’87) and Gustavo Kuerten(1999, 2001).

No comments:

Post a Comment